Shrimp curry

Another popular Whole30 dish I’ve seen online is curry. Thankfully, I was able to find a curry paste with no additives! I tried to follow this recipe: http://everydaypaleo.com/red-or-green-thai-curry/. I was expecting something more soupy, but maybe I didn’t reduce the coconut milk properly. Oh well. Instead of adding the raw veggies at the end, I cooked them in a separate skillet. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

image
Red curry paste, coconut oil, and coconut milk. Salt and pepper for seasoning, too. (Not pictured, but I’m pretty sure you know what salt and pepper looks like haha.)

image
Veggies! I used:

  • 1/2 a pack of cremini mushrooms
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 serving of baby carrots
  • 2 handfuls of green beans (Note: legumes are not Whole30-friendly. However, according to the guidelines, green beans are allowed because there’s more pod than bean. Whatever, I like my green beans, so yay for that exception.)

image
I think this is about 1 lb of shrimp. (It’s in a clear bowl in case you’re wondering why you can see my sink rack.)

  1. Wash all vegetables before chopping. Chop your veggies to your liking. I decided not to julienne the zucchini.
  2. Cut up your protein. In my case, I had to peel all the shrimp…
  3. Heat about 1 tbsp of coconut oil in a skillet. When the pan is hot and the coconut oil is melted, saute green beans and carrots for 2 min. Add in zucchini, bell pepper, and mushrooms. Season with salt and pepper to your liking. Cook for another 2 min. Don’t let the zucchini get all soft and soggy. Once the veggies are cooked, turn off the heat and set aside.
  4. While the veggies are cooking, heat up 1/2 can of coconut milk in a wok over medium heat. You’re supposed to stir and boil the coconut milk for 3 minutes. I have no idea what coconut milk is supposed to look like when it’s reduced, but after 3 minutes, I stirred in about 2tbsp of red curry paste into the milk.
  5. When the curry paste is blended well with the coconut milk, add in your protein. It took me about 5 minutes to cook my shrimp.
  6. Once the protein is fully cooked, toss in your cooked veggies. Add the remaining coconut milk to the wok. After tossing all the ingredients together, I let it simmer for about 5 minutes. Here’s how it turned out:

image

And it was pretty tasty. 🙂 Would definitely be better with rice, but oh well. Makes 3-4 servings.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Shrimp curry”

  1. Sarah says :

    I’m making this tonight from the same recipe. I am glad to see you using both shrimp and the light coconut milk, as that is all I have too! I’m going to try cooking the shrimp less, but not sure if that will mess with the blending of the flavors… Think I’ll just cook it a minute before adding the cooked veggies and see how it goes. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

