Thoughts on NOT completing the whole30.

I’ve been lagging with documenting my food the past several days. Halfway through the month, on Friday, we had a St. Patrick’s day potluck at work. Again, there was the challenge of eating whole30/paleo during that lunch. I don’t want to be “that” person who constantly asks how things are cooked or what ingredients are in certain dishes when someone else is preparing food for me. I feel that that is rude to do so. That day, I decided I wasn’t going to feel bad for whatever I consumed at lunch. And I also ate until I was full; I didn’t indulge whatsoever. A bulk of my plate consisted of meat, veggies, and fruit anyhow. I managed to stay away from tortillas and rice. Not as bad as I thought it would be…

After doing without sweets like brownies or cookies for several days, eating them again was a little disappointing. They didn’t taste as good as they used to. Carrot sticks and fresh fruit actually taste better, to me, than sweets. I guess this is a good thing! I won’t be craving sweets like I used to. Hooray self-discipline!

I “cheated” on my “diet” again yesterday at a potluck in the afternoon and when I had dinner with a friend last night. At the potluck, again, the sweets just weren’t as tasty as they used to be. My friend and I decided on Thai food last night since she can’t find decent, reasonably-priced Asian food where she lives now. I couldn’t find a dish loaded with veggies and chicken, so I decided on a hot and sour soup with coconut milk (I forgot the name) while she got her favorite – pad see ew (I know my spelling is off lol). I had a few bites of her noodle dish, and omg, was it delicious.

Anywho, I really tried to start reading “It Starts With Food” again, and I just couldn’t get through the whole thing for a number of reasons. (More like I skimmed through it than read it closely.) I did not like the way it was written, and I also didn’t agree with the reasons why they eliminate certain food groups in the diet.ย  For example, I don’t think complex carbs like brown rice, oats, and whole grains are bad for you. I also don’t think beans (when prepped without additives) are bad for you either.

No diet or exercise regime is created equal. Some things work better for others. I am definitely not made to be 100% paleo, and I’m more than okay with that.

I did learn a few things from going super-strict paleo though. And I will take away some parts of the diet as I go off of it:

  • Food should be used to fuel your body. It shouldn’t be an excuse to indulge in because of stress.
  • I’ll do my best to stray away from processed foods and food items with additives when I prepare my meals at home.
  • My meals won’t be focused around dairy and grains like they used to.
  • I’ll enjoy alcoholic beverages when I’m out with friends and family. At home, I’ll limit myself to a glass of wine every now and then.
  • I won’t be preparing baked goods for myself at home. (Nowadays, I prefer fruit as dessert anyway. Never thought I’d see the day!)
  • And when dining out, I will not be picky! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll enjoy the “not-so-healthy” foods only when I’m with company.
  • Instead of reaching for the energy or snack bars, I’ll stick with eating a little bit of fruit (and raw nuts or nut butter) as my pre-workout fuel.
  • I never liked sports drinks like Gatorade for working out. Lately, I’ve learned to like coconut water. I will be alternating between coconut water and nuun electrolyte tablets as my workout drink.

I have a couple of paleo recipes to blog though (which I will get to eventually). I’ll still update this blog every now and then on my weight loss/fitness progress as well as clean eating recipes I come across.

I will not be continuing the Whole30 challenge for the rest of March. Instead, I’ll make it a point to eat clean from here on out. ๐Ÿ™‚

– kp

Leave a Reply

